# Point Nine: portfolio, cheque size and how to pitch

Point Nine describes an early-stage AI strategy investing globally, with $1M–$10M per company. The mandate does not specify a complete initial-stage list or a standard lead policy. Its Berlin registered office and portfolio examples help explain the firm, but portfolio stage labels and listing years do not establish a new investment mandate or date.

Source: https://12inf.ai/resources/funds/point-nine
Updated: 2026-10-15

## Recent investments

The available dated deals are historical: Point Nine led Loom's seed round in 2017 and co-led Algolia's seed round in 2013. Newer portfolio names include Aardaia, grubel and Forithmus. Their listing years do not establish investment dates, so they appear below as portfolio companies.

| Company | Round | Date | Role | Source |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Loom | Seed | 2017 | Lead | [Source ↗](https://pointnine.capital/) |
| Algolia | Seed | 2013 | Co-lead | [Source ↗](https://www.pointnine.com/companies) |

## More portfolio companies

Portfolio sources: [pointnine.com · checked 2026-10-13](https://www.pointnine.com/companies); [pointnine.com · checked 2026-10-11](https://pointnine.com); [pointnine.capital · checked 2026-09-10](https://pointnine.capital/).

- [Aardaia](https://aardaia.com/)
- [Attio](https://www.attio.com/)
- Forithmus
- grubel
- Poolside

## How they invest

The homepage mandate is AI for the digital, physical and biological world, with a global geographic scope. The cheque statement is $1M–$10M per company. It does not specify that this whole range is a first cheque, a single round allocation or a lifetime commitment.

Point Nine calls itself an early-stage venture capital firm. For the same reason, the comparable funds below overlap at the broader early-stage level.

The record does not state a general lead-or-follow rule or a numerical ownership target. Historical seed leadership is meaningful transaction evidence but cannot fill either gap. Berlin comes from the firm's imprint as its registered office. Global investing is separately stated on the homepage; a founder should distinguish those two facts rather than infer that the portfolio must be limited to Germany or Europe.

## How to approach Point Nine

1. Make the AI thesis specific to your product. Explain whether the opportunity concerns the digital, physical or biological world, what the system does and what evidence supports the business. Use that connection to frame your opening rather than assuming that a broad software label or a historical portfolio category alone demonstrates a match with the homepage thesis.

2. State the company's maturity plainly and ask about the relevant entry point. Include what has been built, how it is used and what financing has already occurred. Because the source says early-stage without a complete stage list, avoid writing that Point Nine definitely accepts every pre-seed or seed company. Your own round label should be accompanied by the facts behind it.

3. Separate the round target from the investment request. The published $1M–$10M is per company, with no verified first-cheque scope in the record. Say what allocation you are seeking and why it fits the financing plan, then confirm the intended investment structure with the firm. Do not reverse-engineer a required valuation or ownership percentage from the range.

4. Use a dated comparison honestly. Algolia's co-led 2013 seed round or Loom's led 2017 seed round may illustrate a financing role, but both are historical. If your argument depends on a newer company such as Aardaia, read its company-specific source and avoid calling the displayed 2026 portfolio label an investment date. Explain the actual product connection and differences instead of manufacturing recency.

5. Review the official team page and use the firm's own approach route. Identify the market you serve even though the mandate is global; global scope is not confirmation that every jurisdiction or business model is suitable. The linked seed-AI and pre-seed-AI lists provide other funds with explicit stage criteria, and reading them does not imply that Point Nine is counted in either list.

Their team page: [Point Nine](https://www.pointnine.com/team) — checked 2026-09-11.

## Similar funds

Compare these AI investors with overlapping geography and an early-stage focus.

- [Speedinvest](/resources/funds/speedinvest) — Focus includes AI, climate and industrial. Pre-seed, Seed · Vienna
- [Breakwater Ventures](/resources/funds/breakwater-ventures) — Focus includes B2B SaaS, AI and fintech. Pre-seed, Seed · Seattle
- [Episode 1 Ventures](/resources/funds/episode-1) — Focus includes AI, developer tools and infrastructure and B2B SaaS. Pre-seed, Seed · London
- [Fika Ventures](/resources/funds/fika-ventures) — Focus includes B2B SaaS, fintech and marketplaces. Pre-seed, Seed · Los Angeles
- [firstminute capital](/resources/funds/firstminute-capital) — Generalist investor across the UK and Europe. Pre-seed, Seed · London
- [Hike Ventures](/resources/funds/hike-ventures) — Focus includes AI. Seed · San Francisco

For funds with explicit stage criteria, compare these lists; Point Nine is not counted in their mandate tables: [Seed AI investors](/resources/investors/seed-ai); [Pre-seed AI investors](/resources/investors/pre-seed-ai).

Prepare the comparison with [How to read an investor match](/resources/how-to-read-an-investor-match), [Check-size reality](/resources/check-size-reality) and [Portfolio conflicts](/resources/portfolio-conflicts).

## FAQ

**Does Point Nine lead rounds?** There are documented examples: Point Nine led Loom's seed round in 2017 and co-led Algolia's seed round in 2013. The mandate does not state a general lead policy.

**What is Point Nine's cheque size?** The published statement is $1M–$10M per company. Its scope is not specified as a first cheque, so the guide does not relabel it that way. A founder should clarify the proposed allocation and financing structure directly. The sources retained here also do not provide a standard ownership percentage or valuation formula.

**What has Point Nine invested in recently?** Newer portfolio names include Aardaia, grubel and Forithmus, but their retained listing years are not verified investment dates. The dated table consequently contains older Loom and Algolia transactions.

**Does Point Nine invest in Europe and other regions?** Point Nine states that it invests globally and is based in Europe. Berlin is the registered office in the imprint. Global scope supports considering companies across regions, but it does not prove that a particular country, company or financing structure is eligible. Explain the actual business geography and verify any jurisdiction-specific question with the firm.

**How do I pitch Point Nine?** Connect the product to the stated AI thesis, describe its real maturity and distinguish your allocation request from the $1M–$10M per-company statement. Consult the official team page. Historical portfolio examples can support a comparison, while the lead role, entry stage and investment timing should remain explicit questions wherever the public facts do not settle them.

## Method and sources

Based on saved public sources checked on the dates below. The table covers up to 12 evidenced investment dates; portfolio chips have no verified investment date. Sector counts cover tagged companies in these records. Round totals are separate from fund cheques. The pitch checklist is editorial advice. Recheck sources before outreach.

[How we research investors](/resources/methodology).

- [pointnine.capital · checked 2026-09-10](https://pointnine.capital/)

- [pointnine.com · checked 2026-10-11](https://pointnine.com)

- [pointnine.com · checked 2026-10-11](https://pointnine.com/imprint)

- [pointnine.com · checked 2026-10-13](https://www.pointnine.com/)

- [pointnine.com · checked 2026-10-13](https://www.pointnine.com/companies)

- [pointnine.com · checked 2026-09-11](https://www.pointnine.com/team)

## Investment data CSV

[Download investment CSV](/resources/data/fund-guide-point-nine.csv)
